1902-03 Season - Dates & Venues 


The following is proposed as the basis for a full and comprehensive list of the English & Welsh engagements on the 1902-03 season of Buffalo Bill’s Wild West & Congress of Rough Riders of the World. The towns / cities and dates are courtesy of the Buffalo Bill Center of the West. Most of the venues have now been identified and it is hoped that those few which have not yet been established will follow in the fullness of time. All contributions towards filling in the blanks - and corrections - will be gratefully received!


Friday, 26th December 1902 -
Saturday, 4th April 1903
London, ENG Olympia
Monday, 13th April 1903 -
Saturday, 2nd May
Manchester, ENG Brooks’s Bar
Monday, 4th May -
Saturday, 23rd
Liverpool, ENG Old Exhibition Grounds, (Edge-Lane Estate)
Monday, 25th May Warrington, ENG Wilderspool Causeway
Tuesday, 26th May Birkenhead, ENG Devonshire Park
Wednesday, 27th May Rhyl, WALES Wellington Road, near Marine Lake
Thursday, 28th May Bangor, WALES Agricultural Show Ground, Ffriddoedd Road
Friday, 29th May Ruabon, WALES Exhibition Grounds
Saturday, 30th May Shrewsbury, ENG Top Copthorne Road, Adjoining Barracks
Monday, 1st June -
Saturday, 13th
Birmingham, ENG Aston Lane, Perry Barr
Monday, 15th June Worcester, ENG The Pitchcroft
Tuesday, 16th June Kidderminster, ENG Foley Park
Wednesday, 17th June Dudley, ENG The Parade1
Thursday, 18th June Wolverhampton, ENG Dunstall Park
Friday, 19th June Stafford, ENG Stone Flat
Saturday, 20th June Coventry, ENG Birmingham New Road
Monday, 22nd June Rugby, ENG Lutterworth Road
Tuesday, 23rd June Leamington, ENG Radford Road
Wednesday, 24th June Banbury, ENG The Marshes
Thursday, 25th June Oxford, ENG Iffley Road, Near Howard Street
Friday, 26th June -
Saturday, 27th
Reading, ENG Oxford Road (Opposite Pulsometer Works)
Monday, 29th June Swindon, ENG Corpe’s Field
Tuesday, 30th June Cheltenham, ENG Cemetery Road
Wednesday, 1st July Gloucester, ENG Kingsholm Athletic Ground
Thursday, 2nd July Hereford, ENG Race Course
Friday, 3rd July Abergavenny, WALES Bailey Park
Saturday, 4th July Aberdare, WALES Ynys Meadow
Monday, 6th July - Saturday, 11th Cardiff, WALES Sophia Gardens Park
Monday, 13th July Llanelly, WALES Stradey Park Recreation Grounds
Tuesday, 14th July & Wednesday, 15th Swansea, WALES Victoria Park
Thursday, 16th July Newport, ENG Shaftesbury Park
Friday, 17th July Bath, ENG Taylor’s Field, Warminster Road
Saturday, 18th July Weston-super-Mare, ENG Recreation Grounds
Monday, 20th July -
Thursday, 23rd
Bristol, ENG Gloucester Road, Horfield
Friday, 24th July Westbury, ENG Freestone’s Field
Saturday, 25th July Yeovil, ENG Agricultural Show Grounds, Seaton Road
Monday, 27th July Barnstaple, ENG Bideford Road, Near Barnstaple Junction
Tuesday, 28th July Exeter, ENG Old Exhibition Fields, Pinhoe Road
Wednesday, 29th July Newton Abbot, ENG Race Course, Kingsteigngate Road
Thursday, 30th July -
Saturday, 1st August
Plymouth, ENG Exhibition Fields, Pennycomequick
Monday, 3rd August Taunton, ENG Poor Grounds
Tuesday, 4th August Weymouth, ENG Goldcroft Farm, Newstead Road
Wednesday, 5th August Bournemouth, ENG East Common
Thursday, 6th August Salisbury, ENG The Butts, Stratford Road
Friday, 7th August &
Saturday, 8th
Southampton, ENG West Marlands
Monday, 10th August -
Wednesday, 12th
Portsmouth, ENG Exhibition Grounds, North End
Thursday, 13th August -
Saturday, 15th
Brighton, ENG The Race Course
Monday, 17th August Guildford, ENG Shalford Park
Tuesday, 18th August Tunbridge Wells, ENG On the Agricultural Show Grounds
Wednesday, 19th August Eastbourne, ENG Seaside, near Old Toll Gate Bridge
Thursday, 20th August Hastings, ENG Buckshole Field, St. Helen’s Road
Friday, 21st August Ashford, ENG
Saturday, 22nd August Folkestone, ENG Top of Sandgate Hill [Near The Leas]2
Monday, 24th August Ramsgate, ENG Ellington Fields (Opposite Park)
Tuesday, 25th August Margate, ENG Cliftonville3
Wednesday, 26th August Canterbury, ENG
Thursday, 27th August Maidstone, ENG
Friday, 28th August Chatham, ENG
Saturday, 29th August Croydon, ENG Galpin Road, London Road
Monday, 31st August Watford, ENG Johnstone’s 5 Arches Field
Tuesday, 1st September Luton, ENG Powdrill’s Meadows, New Bedford Road
Wednesday, 2nd September Leyton, ENG Barclay Estate
Thursday, 3rd September Southend, ENG Marine Park
Friday, 4th September Colchester, ENG Reed Hall
Saturday, 5th September Bury St. Edmunds, ENG Grange Farm, Eastgate4
Monday, 7th September Ipswich, ENG Bramford Road
Tuesday, 8th September Lowestoft, ENG Acton Road Ground, Kirkley
Wednesday, 9th September Yarmouth, ENG On the Marshes, Southtown
Thursday, 10th September Norwich, ENG Dix’s Land, Unthank Road
Friday, 11th September King’s Lynn, ENG Fox’s Field, Sutton Bridge Road5
Saturday, 12th September Wisbech, ENG Flint’s Cricket Field,
opposite Great Eastern Railway
Monday, 14th September Peterborough, ENG Whitney’s Field, Padholme Road
Tuesday, 15th September Ely, ENG Gill’s Field, Common Road6
Wednesday, 16th September Bedford, ENG Fore End Road (near Gas Works)
Thursday, 17th September Northampton, ENG On The Racecourse
Friday, 18th September Wellingborough, ENG
Saturday, 19th September Kettering, ENG Bayes’ Field, Rothwell Road
Monday, 21st September to
Tuesday, 22nd
Leicester, ENG Freemen’s Meadow
Wednesday, 23rd September Spalding, ENG Green Waltham’s Park, Pinchbeck Road
Thursday, 24th September Boston, ENG Ryan’s Field, Sleaford Road
Friday, 25th September Grantham, ENG On the Barracks Field, Avenue Road
(Drill Ground, 4th Battalion, Lincolnshire Regiment)
Saturday, 26th September Lincoln, ENG On the South Common, Corner of High-Street7
Monday, 28th September -
Saturday, 3rd October
Leeds, ENG Cardigan Fields
Monday, 5th October &
Tuesday, 6th
Bradford, ENG Leeds Road, Thornbury
Wednesday, 7th October Keighley, ENG Skipton Road, Utley
Thursday, 8th October Halifax, ENG Savile Park
Friday, 9th October Wakefield, ENG Belle Vue Grounds
Saturday, 10th October Doncaster, ENG Town Moor
Monday, 12th October -
Thursday, 15th
Sheffield, ENG Thompson’s Meadow, Penistone Road, Owlerton
Friday, 16th October Chesterfield, ENG Derby Road
Saturday, 17th October Newark, ENG Grounds: Kelham Road
Monday, 19th October &
Tuesday, 20th
Nottingham, ENG Radcliffe Road, Near Trent Bridge
(West Bridgeford)
Wednesday, 21st October Loughborough, ENG Race Course
Thursday, 22nd October Derby, ENG Osmaston Park, London Road
Friday, 23rd October Burton, ENG Dallow Lock Field8

1 Advertised in the Dudley Herald, 13th June 1903, as ‘Grounds the Parade’ and elaborated by the accompanying article as ‘in the field at the Parade, Eve Hill’. The County Express, 20th June 1903, refers to ‘the show ground at Evehill, near Castle View.’

2 The formulation advertised by the Folkestone Herald on 12th and 19th August 1903 was:

‘Grounds : TOP OF SANDGATE HILL
[Near the Leas]’

However, the formulation preferred by the Folkestone Express on 8th, 12th, 15th, 19th and 22th August was ‘GROUNDS – THE LEAS.’

The Folkestone Herald, 26th August 1903, described the venue as ‘a large field at the top of Sandgate Hill’.

3 No advertisement has yet been traced for Margate but the Islington Daily Gazette, 27th August 1903, vaguely but helpfully located the venue ‘up Cliftonville way.’

4 Described by the Evening Star and Daily Herald, 7th September 1903, as ‘land in the occupation of Mr. D. W. Taylor, at the Grange Farm, Eastgate, Bury St. Edmund’s’

5 Described by the Eastern Daily Press, 11th September 1903, as ‘the well-known show ground at West Lynn’

6 No advertisement has yet been traced for Ely but this information is supplied by an article in the Cambridge Daily News, 16th September 1903.

7 Originally announced as the Race Course

8 Described by the Burton Chronicle, 8th October 1903, as ‘the fields lying between Dallow Bridge and Wyggeston Street’

Home

Buffalo Bill’s Wild West in Great Britain